North County Society of Fine Arts

PO Box 291 Poway CA 92074

California Assembly Award

California Legislature awarded the NCSFA Recognition of our Dedication to the Arts
Presented by Marie Waldron, Assemblymember 75th District, October 2014

NCSFA is a non-profit group, dedicated to fostering the appreciation
and education of fine art in our community.

We meet on the second Tuesday of the month, 1-3 pm, September through May, with a
12:30-1 pm social gathering. We currently have over 90 members;
We always welcome new members.

Sharon Ford, our NCSFA President
Sharon Ford,
NCSFA President

About Us

The NCSFA offers seven demonstrations and two critiques by accomplished artists every year. Other opportunities include informal critiques, paint-outs, annual members and/or juried shows with reception*, member exhibit opportunities, a quality emailed newsletter, this website, workshops* and art field trips* (* available at low cost fee). The website also offers a free web-link for our members' own artist websites. Your dues support the art community: we fund scholarships scholarships for Poway Unified School District's college-bound high school art students, and offer a generous cash award to an artist exhibiting fine art at the San Diego Fair. In December, we offer a paint out, with a luncheon following. We don't meet formally June, July, August. Click on our Meetings page for more information. Scholarships are awarded to graduating high school seniors continuing their education in the field of art. Click here for more information about our scholarship program.

Our Historyt
The fine art organization known today as North County Society of Fine Arts (NCSFA) was founded by Pat Kent, Marjorie Eddy and Diana Smith, and was originally known as Poway Art League (PAL). The three Poway residents invited community artisits and held the first general meeting on May 20, 1993. PAL was formed for the purpose of unifying local artists, providing programs in various media and techniques, and furthering art educaton by granting scholarships to local high school graduates just entering college as art majors. In 1996, after becoming North County Society of Fine Arts, the first scholarship was granted, and scholarships have been awarded every year since. Fundraising was initially accomplished through the sale of popcorn and cotton candy at Old Poway Park events, as well as generous donations from Nokia and Wal-mart. Wal-mart continued to contribute annually to the scholarship fund until 2010. North County Society of Fine Arts also held an annual formal tea until 2009, for the purpose of raising funds for scholarships. Our scholarships are currently being supported by member donations, art trips and other proceeds.

Officers and Chairs for 2016-2017

Officers - 2016-2017
President - Sharon Ford
Past president - Jan Bowersox
1st VP Programs - Karen Vincent
2nd VP Membership - Sue Robertson
3rd VP Escondido Show - Pat Titus
Poway Performing Arts Center Members Show - Barbara Schmidt
4th VP Youth Scholarships - Margaret North
5th VP Art Tours - Coordinator - Valerie Raymond
Newsletter Editor - Barbara Schmidt
Recording Secretary - Lynne Rand
Treasurer - Sue Robertson
Website - Kathryn Peterson

Chairs - 2016-2017
Auditor of Financial Records - Jack Robertson
Corresponding Secretary - Janet Perkin
Exhibits - Barbara Schmidt, Pat Titus, Marlene Tague
Assist - Jan Bowersox
Assembler Emails and Mailings - Barbara Schmidt
Hospitality organizer - Sue Daffara
Informal Critiques - Doris Bertch
Assist - Karen Vincent
Paint-outs - Betty Rexford
Publicity - Ahna Street
Workshops - Lori Chase
Historian - Sue Ann Daffara
Equipment Set-Up Tech Joan Mann

Proposed Officers and Chairs for 2017-2018

Officers - 2017-20178
President: Sharon Ford and Sue Ann Daffara
Past President: Jan Bowersox
1st VP Programs &Critiques: Vita Sorrentino
2ndVP Membership: Sue Robertson
3rd VP Other Exhibits: A Marleen Tague (UBS Gallery) B Cheryl Boeller (RB Library)
4th VP Youth Scholarship: Sharon Ford, Jan Bowersox, & Sue Ann Daffara
5th VP Art Tours: Valerie Raymond, Consultant w/Jo-Linde, Sharon Ford, Carol Mansfield, Nancy Hines, Pati Johnson, Pat Patapow
Newsletter Editor: Sue Ann Daffara & Mr.Daffara with Sharon’s help
Recording Secretary: Lilly Szulc
Treasurer: Sue Robertson
Website: Kathryn Peterson

Chairs - 2017-2018
Auditor of Financial Records: Jack Robertson
Corresponding Secretary: Janet Perkin
Displays: Sharon Ford
RB Library & UBS Displays/Opportunities: Sharon Ford, Jan Bowersox Other: Marlene Tague Hospitality: Roxanne and Wally Smith
Informal Critiques: Doris Bertch (Reserve room at RB Library)
Membership Badges: Sue Robertson
Assembler emails & mailing: Sue Ann Daffara & Mr. Daffara w/ Sharon’s help
Paint Outs: Betty Rexford
Publicity & :Historian: Ahna Street
Workshops: Lori Chase/Michelle Kruck
Television/iPad Set- up Tech: Please volunteer

Contact us by email or write to NCSFA, PO Box 291 Poway CA 92074

Click here to Join the NCSFA

Board Meetings --Scheduled for the Monday before the Second Tuesdays, 1 pm (subject to change) at the Rancho Bernardo Library